Uncategorized

The BFG – Shine from within

img_20170727_002642_209.jpg

My son and I love books by Roald Dahl. So when @taketimeoutchallenges came up with a challenge inspired by a quote from one of his books, we were more than excited. Yes, you guessed it right! I love sharing my crafting challenge entries with my son and husband. They are always curious to know what the challenge is about, give their ideas or know what i am planning to do and at the end of each challenge take a look at the winning entries. We three are new to card challenges and blogging and hence super excited.

The timeoutchallenge #88 is an ‘Inspired by Words’ challenge. The words come from the Children’s novel ‘Twits’ by Roald Dahl:‘If you have good thoughts they will shine out of your face like sunbeams and you will always look lovely’

Its all about ‘shine’, ‘sunbeams’ and ‘good thoughts’. I feel The BFG is one the characters by Roald Dahl who really shines from within, What do you say ? So i made this card featuring him.

To make this card I used the Lick-swishy stampset and stamped the image with Memento black ink on a Neenah white cardstock. I then masked the stamped images using masking paper from inkadinkado. I wanted to have sunbeams shine out of the stamped image but did not have a stencil for it. So i made my own stencil using a scrap card stock and the ray die from Gina Marie Designs, which i am going to reuse on someother project :). I then placed my homemade stencil on the masked image and created the sunbeams using fossilized amber distress oxide ink and a mini ink blending tool. Then all that was left was to peel off the masking paper and color in with my copic markers. Finally, i used Wonky stiched dies from Avery Elle (which is one of my most used dies) to give my panel an interesting edge .

IMG_20170727_002642_208

The Roal Dahl books that we have are a gift to us from Ms. Anita Rao. These were her son’s books who thoroughly enjoyed reading those as a kid. This card is for her and the sentiment on the card is very apt to thank her for all her kindness.

I too very actively share my son’s books with the kids i know (something i learnt from Ms. Anita Rao). By doing this, my son learnt the pleasure of sharing and not getting attached to material. He is also quite comfortable in accepting used items and appreciates that by sharing and reusing, we take a step closer towards a greener earth. The books too are happy to be loved by many kids 🙂

If we can help children (or even adults) inculcate good reading habit, that would truly be the nicest gift we could ever give.

Btw, when my son saw the finished card, he was particularly amused by how tiny lil Sophie’s image looked. Lol!

Well i really enjoyed making this card and playing along with timeoutchallenge #88 .Thanks #timeoutchallenges for such a wonderful challenge.

Hope you had fun reading this post have a happy day.

8 thoughts on “The BFG – Shine from within”

  1. The sunbeams shine out of your post as well as your card, Bharati … such cute and fun images, so precisely coloured … a sweet scene and fabulous sentiment! Thanks so much for playing along with us at Time Out! Anita 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hello Bharati. Although the collection has closed, I just had to come by and tell you how much I enjoyed your card for Time Out Challenge #88. As much as I love it for the challenge, I enjoyed your post equally. I am a children’s librarian, and your post really touched my heart. I also have 2 sons and a husband who are wonderfully interested in my cardmaking. Lovely connection. Thank you so much for playing with us at Time Out. I hope you play with us again and again! Hugs, Stephanie.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Bharati,
    I love this card, the sunbeams are amazing and made from a DIY stencil, a joy to see. I am so pleased our challenge inspired you. And your interpretation of it turned out wonderfully….hope your hubby and son agree! I like your idea of lending out your son’s books to his friends and how this has rubbed off on hi, and his view of possessions. I hope our photo challenge inspires you this week x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi sandie, Thanks a lot of dropping by and for all those lovely words. I (read we) saw the photo challenge n have a few ideas. I am also so happy that these challenges are a family thing now.

      Like

Leave a Reply

